Finding Information

Here you will find answers to frequently asked questions.

In case you'd still have some questions, we advise you to have a look at the video's in this LibGuide or contact your project coach.

Note that tutorials on how to use the databases are included in this LibGuide at Useful Databases - IB: Finding Information - LibGuides at Avans Hogeschool - You'll find a direct link and a video tutorial of each of the databases often used at IB at the bottom of the webpage. 

Avans has a license to many different kinds of databases. However, not all are suited to what you're looking for.

If you're looking for quantitative information for your project or assignment, like financial numbers for your category, sector and/or country, or a PESTLE-report you could have a look at

• MarketLine  (<direct link) - In MarketLine you can look up full-text reports about companies, country profiles and expert articles on markets
• Statista - Statista is the global No.1 Data Platform with insights and facts across 170 industries and 150+ countries.

If you're looking for qualitative information, like more detailed information about your category, you could have a look at

• Business Source Ultimate - In Business Source Ultimate you can look up English articles on economics, management, marketing, business and HRM. Information from Business Source Premier can be accessed directly via the search engine Kaluga, but it is advised to check out the database BSU itself, for it also holds a thesaurus for your search terms, which can help you to get better search results.
• OECD iLibrary - The central knowledge base of expertise from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Contains rapports, statistics and podcasts, among others.

Video tutorials on how to use these databases can be found here (in the menu on the left at 'useful databases')

! Please make sure to access these databases via the link above or via the list of databases, in order to get free access with your Avans account. 

Text books do not always give you the most recent information about a topic or category. 

For the most recent information about a specific field or category you can look up articles in magazines, (scholarly or trade) journals and international newspapers.

• (International) Newspapers can be found via this link. Note that Avans doesn't have a license which gives you unlimited access to these newspapers but you can look up a few articles. 
• Use scholarly or academic journal articles to find specific information, latest developments in a specific field and relevant research results and references (peer reviewed). This kind of information can be found using Kaluga and also via Google Scholar
• In Kaluga you can search for recent articles by changing the 'creation date' to a current date in the menu on the left and click 'refine' (see below). Here you can also change the resource type and change the setting to 'available online'.

! Note that a digital source might not always be available in FullText. For instance, not all publications you'll find via Google Scholar can be opened immediately. Sometimes you'll need to pay to read an article or you'll just find a description of the article.

Download the Lean Library extension to gain access to articles (like in Google Scholar) more easily. It is a browser extension that supports access to online information, like journals, eBooks and databases, both for which Avans has a license and Open Access, wherever you are. The installation is personal and connected to your Avans account. You can (safely!) download the extension by clicking here. (scroll down and choose your browser)

Sometimes you can't seem to find the information about your given country for the project. (After you followed these steps (quick overview) in MarketLine and checked these databases)

Maybe your country isn't in those specific databases. What to do?

Of course there is not just one option or solution...

But here are some hints for you to try:

• Check out Country Statistics via the central repository of country profiles of statistical systems from the United Nations Statistics Division via this link. The country profiles include, among others, a brief history of the country's statistical system, legal basis, the statistical programme and much more.
• In this LibGuide @ Useful sources you'll find a whole list of links to webpages that might be of some help to get information on your country. For instance, World Bank shows current and accurate global development data. Includes national, regional and global estimates. 
• Scroll to 'links to (country) statistics and business information' 
• Expand your search - If you haven't been able to track down some info on your given country, expand your search area.
  • What neighboring countries are there?
  • How does their economy, population etc. relate to your given country for your project?
  • What trends do you see in those countries?

Do not forget to explain your thought process (and cite your sources).

Of course there is not just one answer here. 

If you're looking for competitor information, you can start with a brainstorm with your PG. Which competitive companies do you already know?

In Google Trends you can also find some helpful information.

For more information on how to use Google Trends for market research check this link: How to use Google Trends for Market Research (2022) - Adacted

Find competitor information in MarketLine:

Check out this quick guide how to find competitor information in MarketLine 

Also check out the page with useful sources to find Business Information, like the World Trade Organization. 

Can't seem to find the information you need for your assignment? Expand your search!

Check out the search terms you already created to get your information. Maybe your search terms are too narrow?

You can expand your search terms by using more synonyms for your chosen terms and try to associate other things. So think of related terms. For instance if you're looking for information about Fanta, try 'orange soda' or 'carbonated drinks' or 'soft drinks'. A very broad term for it might be 'non alcoholic beverages'.

Creating a mindmap is a great tool to help you gather and structure everything that comes to mind while creating search terms. 

It also goes the other way. So if you can't find information you're looking for, maybe your search terms are too broad. So add more specific terms to your search string. 

A few links with thesaurus that could be of help to find related, narrow and broader terms:

Thesaurus / synonyms
In a thesaurus you will find a list of synonyms and related terms.

• Thesaurus.com - Free online thesaurus (English-English)
• Thesaurus for Economics - Free thesaurus specialised in economic subjects
• Business Source Ultimate thesaurus - this database also holds a thesaurus section you can access via this link or via xplora

For more information on search terms and how to create them see Search terms - IB: Finding Information - LibGuides at Avans Hogeschool

For more information in creating search strings, or search queries, have a look at Search queries - how to search - IB: Finding Information - LibGuides at Avans Hogeschool