Xplora LibGuides: Finding Information: Recommended reads

Information

In this section 'Recommended reads' you can specify your year in the menu on the left to find links to mandatory and recommended literature by your lecturers.

Note that not everything might be listed here. Brightspace remains leading to see what sources your lecturers have recommended to read or view!

Interesting reads

Interested in reading some more about various topics that could be relevant, or adding to your skills and knowledge as a future Business professional?

Below you'll find links to e-books on topics like:

Research and writing skills,
Personal Leadership and Communicative Skills,
International Business,
Marketing,
Sales,
Creating Impact,
Intercultural Proficiency,
Supply Chain Management and more.

Kaluga holds many more (e)books and articles on these topics! Go explore it at Xplora

Writing skills

Better at Business English Better at business English - Grammar is designed to help you look at grammar in a new and highly practical light. The tools offered here will enable you to see and feel the building blocks of text and how they fit together to form comprehensive messages. This guided practice will help you improve the accuracy and quality of your communication, and your new skills will be useful throughout your studies and professional career.
Report Writing for Readers with Little Time In Higher Education, the Dutch edition of Report writing for readers with little time is the textbook most widely used for the writing of reports of a technical nature while professional writers use it as a popular reference work. With Report writing for readers with little time, you will learn how to write in a convincing way, even for a public who will read selectively. The book's many examples demonstrate how to realize that: from structuring a report, to formulating and illustrating it effectively. Guidelines on graphic presentation are also included. The book discusses writing under pressure (by writing as a team, for example) and provides particular advice on oral presentations, letters of application and pitfalls to avoid when writing in English. This edition includes a chapter on dealing with sources of information, with special reference to plagiarism. Additionally, it pays attention to effective reasoning.

Research methods

Research Methods for Business Students by Mark Saunders; Philip Lewis; Adrian Thornhill Research Methods for Business Students has been fully revised for this 7th Edition and continues to be the market-leading textbook in its field, guiding hundreds of thousands of student researchers to success in their research methods modules, research proposals, projects and dissertations.
ISBN: 9781292016627
Publication Date: 2015-07-23

Personal leadership

Balancing Leadership and Personal Growth : The School Administrator’s Guide
The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People : Powerful Lessons in Personal Change (25th Anniversary Edition)
The 7 habits of highly effective people : powerful lessons in personal change
2020
Essential study and employment skills for business and management students Essential Study and Employment Skills for Business and Management Students offers a comprehensive, one-stop guide that will equip you with all the necessary skills needed to enhance your success both during university and in your future working environment. It covers all the core areas associated with business and management degrees, and offers a unique focus on employability to ensure that you can translate the skills you acquire into professional practice. This third edition has been fully revised to include a new group activity in each chapter, as well as updated activities throughout to reinforce the skills introduced in each chapter. The content and structure of the book has been updated to focus more effectively on core areas such as the use of quantitative data, and the development of professional skills and employability. With the main focus of the book firmly on active experimentation and reflection, Essential Study and Employment Skills for Business and Management Students remains unparalleled as a resource to support, encourage, and develop business and management students throughout their time at university and beyond.
The Self-Reliant Entrepreneur: 366 Daily Meditations to Feed your Soul and Grow your Business. The Self-Reliant Entrepreneur offers overworked and harried entrepreneurs, and anyone who thinks like one, a much-needed guide for tapping into the wisdom that is most relevant to the entrepreneurial life. The book is filled with inspirational meditations that contain the thoughts and writings of notable American authors. Designed as a daily devotional, it is arranged in a calendar format, and features readings of transcendentalist literature and others. Each of The Self-Reliant Entrepreneur meditations is followed by a reflection and a challenging question from John Jantsch. He draws on his lifetime of experience as a successful coach for small business and startup leaders to offer an entrepreneurial context. Jantsch shows how entrepreneurs can learn to trust their ideas and overcome the doubt and fear of everyday challenges. The book contains: A unique guide to meditations, especially designed for entrepreneurs A range of topics such as self-awareness, trust, creativity, resilience, failure, growth, freedom, love, integrity, and passion An inspirational meditation for each day of the year. . . including leap year Reflections from John Jantsch, small business marketing expert and the author of the popular book Duct Tape Marketing Written for entrepreneurs, as well anyone seeking to find a deeper meaning in their work and life, The Self-Reliant Entrepreneur is a practical handbook for anyone seeking to embrace the practice of self-trust.
Debunking Handbook 2020 The Debunking Handbook 2020 summarises the current state of the science of misinformation and its debunking. It was written by a team of 22 prominent scholars of misinformation and its debunking, and it represents the current consensus on the science of debunking for engaged citizens, policymakers, journalists, and other practitioners.
The 8th Habit : From Effectiveness to Greatness From Stephen R. Covey comes a profound, compelling, and groundbreaking book of next-level thinking that gives a clear way to finally tap the limitless value-creation promise of the “Knowledge Worker Age.”In the more than twenty-five years since its publication, the classic The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People has become an international phenomenon with more than twenty-five million copies sold. Tens of millions of people in business, government, schools, and families, and, most importantly, as individuals, have dramatically improved their lives and organizations by applying the principles of Stephen R. Covey's classic book. The world, however, is a vastly changed place. Being effective as individuals and organizations is no longer merely an option—survival in today's world requires it. But in order to thrive, innovate, excel, and lead in what Covey calls the “New Knowledge Worker Age,” we must build on and move beyond effectiveness. The call of this new era in human history is for greatness; it's for fulfillment, passionate execution, and significant contribution. Accessing the higher levels of human genius and motivation in today's new reality requires a change in thinking: a new mindset, a new skill-set, a new tool-set—in short, a whole new habit. The crucial challenge of our world today is this: to find our voice and inspire others to find theirs. It is what Covey calls the 8th Habit. So many people feel frustrated, discouraged, unappreciated, and undervalued—with little or no sense of voice or unique contribution. The 8th Habit is the answer to the soul's yearning for greatness, the organization's imperative for significance and superior results, and humanity's search for its “voice.” Covey's new book will transform the way we think about ourselves, our purpose in life, our organizations, and about humankind. Just as The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People helped us focus on effectiveness, The 8th Habit shows us the way to greatness.

SWOT

The SWOT Analysis : A Key Tool for Developing Your Business Strategy
Hidden Strengths Build a Foundation for Continual GrowthIn today's turbulent world you need to continually develop new skills to remain agile and adaptive—otherwise, your strengths will become crutches. But contrary to what many people believe, the best way to develop new skills isn't working on your weaknesses—it's identifying and elevating the underdeveloped abilities that lie between your weaknesses and your strengths. Books like StrengthsFinder 2.0 have helped leaders build on what they're best at—but they stop there. If you only go that far you're missing a huge opportunity for professional growth. Leading Silicon Valley consultants Thuy and Milo Sindell argue that relying exclusively on your top abilities can actually hold you back—it's critical that you expand your repertoire of skills. The most effective way to do that is find your hidden strengths—midlevel skills that can quickly be elevated into learned strengths with attention and focus. This book shows you how.Too many people waste their time working on their weaknesses, say the Sindells. Although focusing on shoring up weaknesses on the surface makes sense, they've found that it takes too much time and effort—the ROI just isn't there. The neglected skills in the middle, neither strengths nor weaknesses, are where the most potent development opportunities lie. They're close enough to being strengths that putting your energy there can offer a fast and powerful payoff. Us the Sindells'free online Hidden Strengths Assessment, along with the exercises and case studies in the book, you'll be able to identify your most promising hidden strengths and create a plan to turn them into major assets. In today's work environment, not growing and stretching yourself translates into lack of innovation, stagnation, and obsolescence. You can't keep leaning on the things you're naturally good at or your strengths will become training wheels. But with the Sindells'help, you'll continually develop new skills that will keep you riding at the front of the pack.
Everything you need to know about SWOT analysis This book describes the steps to take to complete a SWOT Analysis. First, you will consider your company's strengths and weaknesses, and then you will look outward to the marketplace and the industry and think about opportunities for growth, new markets and improvements, and also the threats or obstacles to growth. A SWOT Analysis is an honest, objective, in-depth look at your company and its place in the market.

Intercultural Sensitivity

E-book Intercultural Sensitivity by C. Nunez, R. Nunez Mahdi, L. Popma
ISBN: 9789023256939

Intercultural proficiency

Intercultural Communication: A Critical Introduction. Combining perspectives from discourse analysis and sociolinguistics, the second edition of this popular textbook provides students with a comprehensive, up-to-date and critical overview of the field of intercultural communication. Ingrid Piller explains communication in context using two main approaches. The first treats cultural identity, difference and similarity as discursive constructions. The second, informed by bilingualism studies, highlights the use and prestige of different languages and language varieties as well as the varying access that speakers have to them.
The culture map : decoding how people think, lead, and get things done across cultures Whether you work in a home office or abroad, business success in our ever more globalized and virtual world requires the skills to navigate through cultural differences and decode cultures foreign to your own. Renowned expert Erin Meyer is your guide through this subtle, sometimes treacherous terrain where people from starkly different backgrounds are expected to work harmoniously together.
Allemaal andersdenkenden Allemaal andersdenkenden is een van de invloedrijkste boeken van de afgelopen decennia. Het is een standaardwerk voor wie denkt over en werkt met cultuurverschillen – overheid en bedrijven, ngo’s, studenten, reizigers en krantenlezers. Dit boek is de jongste editie van Geert Hofstedes baanbrekende studie naar de manier waarop ons denken, voelen en handelen beïnvloed worden door de cultuur waarin we zijn opgegroeid. De ‘dimensies van Hofstede’ hebben blijvend bijgedragen aan wederzijds begrip tussen mensen in bedrijven en organisaties over de hele wereld.

e-books international business

International Business
International Business: The New Realities, Global Edition
more...less...
A Millennial ApproachInternational Business: The New Realities caters to a millennial student audience, the most diverse and educated generation to date. The book speaks to students of the technological age, facing a diverse and evolving economic environment fueled by the Internet and multimedia sources. By addressing issues such as the competitive job market and challenges faced by advanced economies, the text preps students for international business in our modern world. The Fourth Edition plays on millennials'characteristics to engage them in the material. This includes their reliance on technology, their drive towards achievement and helping their communities, and their desire to obtain skills they can apply towards meaningful jobs
International Business Blunders 
International Business Blunders : Lessons for Future Managers
more...less...
Difference in the levels of progress between developed and developing countries poses significant challenges for firms from the developing world to operate successfully in markets in the developed world. However, as globalization deepens, firms in the developing world, like their counterparts in the developed world, are forced to look for markets outside of their domestic environment. Increasingly, firms in developing countries will have no choice but to look for markets in large and wealthy developed countries in addition to other similar developing countries. International Business Blunders will provide direct evidence from CEOs and international business managers within firms that have moved from their domestic market in the developing world to do business in the developed world. The insights from these cases will serve as invaluable lessons for other firms that are seeking to enter these physically and psychically distant markets. By highlighting the blunders that are made by firms that have braved entering markets in developed countries, this book will provide pedagogical examples of how to minimize the blunders that future managers might make.

Supply Chain Management

Essentials of Supply Chain Management by Michael H. Hugos The bestselling guide to the field, updated with the latest innovations Essentials of Supply Chain Management is the definitive guide to the field, providing both broad coverage and necessary detail from a practical, real-world perspective. From clear explanation of fundamental concepts to insightful discussion of supply chain innovation, this book offers students and professionals a comprehensive introduction with immediately-applicable understanding. The fourth edition has been updated to reflect the current state of the field, with coverage of the latest technologies and new case studies that illustrate critical concepts in action. Organized for easy navigation and ease-of-use, this invaluable guide also serves as a quick reference for managers in the field seeking tips and techniques for maximizing efficiency and turning the supply chain into a source of competitive advantage. The supply chain underpins the entire structure of manufacturing and retailing. Well-run, it can help a company become a global behemoth--or, if poorly-managed, it can sink a company before the product ever sees the light of day. The supply chain involves many moving parts, constantly-changing variables, and a network of other business that may have different priorities and interests--keeping it all running smoothly is a complex, but immensely powerful skill. This book takes you inside the supply chain to show you what you need to know. Understand the fundamental concepts behind supply chain management Learn how supply chains work, and how to measure their performance Explore the ways in which innovation is improving supply chains around the world Examine the supply chain as a source of competitive advantage Whether you're at the front or the back of your supply chain, your business is affected by every other company and event in the chain. Deep understanding and a host of practical skills are required to accurately predict, react to, and manage the ever-changing stream of events that could potentially disrupt the flow. Essentials of Supply Chain Management prepares you to take on the challenge and succeed. 
ISBN: 9781119461104
Publication Date: 2018-03-13
Supply Chain Management by Mikihisa Nakano This book explains supply chain management (SCM) using the strategy-structure-process-performance (SSPP) framework. Utilizing this well-known framework of contingency theory in the areas of strategic management and organizational design, SCM is firmly positioned among management theories. The author specifically proposes a theoretical foundation of SCM that will be relevant to such areas as operations management, logistics management, purchasing management, and marketing. Both the static and dynamic sides of SCM are reported. On the static side, supply chain strategies are divided into three patterns: efficiency-oriented, responsiveness-oriented, and the hybrid efficiency- and responsiveness-oriented pattern. For each strategy, suitable internal and external supply chain structures and processes are proposed. On the dynamic side, the big issue is to overcome performance trade-offs. Based on theories of organizational change, process change, and dynamic capabilities, the book presents a model of supply chain process change. On structure, the focus is on the role of an SCM steering department. Illustrative cases are included from such diverse industries as automobiles (Toyota and Nissan ), personal computers (Fujitsu), office equipment (Ricoh), air-conditioning (Daikin), tobacco (Japan Tobacco), chemicals and cosmetics (Kao), and casual fashion (Fast Retailing and Inditex).The strategy and organization of SCM is systematically presented on the basis of the SSPP framework. In particular, the relationships among three management elements--strategy, structure, and process--can be identified in an SCM context. From many of the cases contained in this volume, there emerges an understanding of how to analyze the success and failure factors of SCM using the SSPP framework. In addition, the reader sees not only the static side SCM such as process operation but also its dynamic side such as process innovation and process improvement.
ISBN: 9789811384783
Publication Date: 2019-08-16

Management accounting

Introduction to Management Accounting Global Edition
ISBN: 9780273790013
Publication Date: 16th edition

e-books marketing

The Conversation Company : Boost Your Business Through Culture, People and Social Media Research shows that consumer conversations, client happiness and empowered employees are the pillars of growth in a successful company. However, many organizations make decisions that contradict these findings and hamper their prospects of expansion. The Conversation Company will help your organization become a business in which people are the key driver of growth, sharing engaging content and building the company's culture and business objectives. People now expect any brand to have a human'face'and you need to define a clear set of values for both employees and customers, incorporating them in your marketing so that all company communication reflects the DNA of your organization. Based on solid research and including interviews and case studies of companies such as Zappos, Kodak, Nokia and Microsoft, The Conversation Company is the key to sustainable success.
Market Segmentation : How to Do It and How to Profit From It Market Segmentation: How to do it and how to profit from it, revised and updated 4th Edition is the only book that spells out a totally dispassionate, systematic process for arriving at genuine, needs-based segments that can enable organizations to escape from the dreay, miserable, downward pricing spiral which results from getting market segmentation wrong. Nothing in business works unless markets are correctly defined, mapped, quantified and segmented. Why else have hundreds of billions of dollars been wasted on excellent initiatives such as TQM, BPR, Balanced Scorecards, Six Sigma, Knolwedge Management, Innovation, Relationship Marketing and, latterly, CRM? The answer, of course, is because of a structured approach to market segmentation. Market Segmentation: How to do it and how to profit from it, revised and updated 4th Edition provides a structured, no-nonsense approach to getting market segmentation right. It is an essential text for professionals and students based on a wealth of practical experience and packed with examples and easily used checklists.
Marketing Fundamentals Marketing Fundamentals is the European edition of Grondslagen van de marketing, the market leader in the Netherlands for over 30 years. In this bestseller, Dr. Bronis Verhage – Professor of Marketing at Georgia State University in Atlanta – strikes the right balance between marketing theory and practice. This has appealed to hundreds of thousands of students and created a great deal of enthusiasm about marketing. The English-language-edition offers a European perspective, embedded in a global context. The book's ‘easy reading'language is aimed at non-native speakers of English, and its engaging, lively writing style stimulates student learning. Marketing Fundamentals includes a teaching approach that is preferred in Europe. Powerful ideas on dealing with marketing challenges are illustrated by analyses of both failures and successes of companies'strategies for identifying and meeting customer needs. In our fast-changing social and digital marketplace, the third edition of Marketing Fundamentals delivers new and updated content. For example, it includes coverage of e-commerce, social media, mobile and other online marketing tools as well as exciting digital platforms to engage customers and add value. In addition, the Practitioner's and Professor's Perspectives offer insightful opinions on key issues in marketing management.

Interesting Reads: Articles

(E)books

Quantitative Data Analysis Data often comes from observations made at multiple points in time. Obtaining repeated observations on the same units allows the researcher to access a richer information set about observed units than would be possible with single observations and to map the evolution of the phenomenon over multiple periods for both individual units and overall as a trend. (For example, relationships between two variables may strengthen, weaken, or even disappear over time.) Longitudinal data can be gathered via survey instruments or archival databases that offer repeated measures on the same variables at different times.
Measuring Marketing : The 100+ Essential Metrics Every Marketer Needs The demands of a more dynamic, globalized business world have led to sophisticated methods for quantifying marketing success. This informative guide defines and explains the use of more than 110 key marketing metrics for the success of your business. In eleven focused sections, this resource makes otherwise complex topics understandable. Written for marketing professionals accountable for measurable results as well as senior executives who need a firm understanding of marketing's impact on a business or product line, it clearly explains the metrics that you can use to measure marketing. Along the way, you'll be introduced to a variety of important analytical tools, from brand, customer, and sales metrics to advertising, price, and distributions metrics. And with the addition of new examples and metrics—including significant updates to the online/digital/social area— Measuring Marketing, Third Edition will put you in a better position to excel at this difficult endeavor.
Creativity and Data Marketing : A Practical Guide to Data Innovation The world is moving towards universal connectivity at a dizzying rate; underpinning this complex system of incessant transaction, connection and digital experience is an infrastructure that generates a trail of data. This trail not only tells us about human behaviour, but provides vital insights into market dynamics, consumer behaviour, as well as the relationships we value and the culture we live in. Creativity and Data Marketing helps marketers access this data, find meaning in it and leverage it creatively to gain a competitive advantage. Creativity and Data Marketing addresses the need to analyse data creatively, and in particular how balancing tangible insights with creative market influence can maximise business innovation and results. The book clarifies where businesses can improve existing infrastructure, processes and activities, as well as finding new addressable markets ready to validate or rethink market demand.
Marketing Analytics Roadmap Many managers view marketing as a creative endeavor, not something that is measurable or manageable by numbers. But today's leaders in the C-suite demand greater accountability. They want to know that they are getting a return on their marketing investment. And to get that ROI number, you need analytics. This expectation is intimidating for the many sales and marketing managers who rely on marketing instincts, not metrics, to do their work. But Marketing Analytics Roadmap: Methods, Metrics, and Tools demonstrates that employing analytics isn't just a way to keep the CEO off your back. It improves marketing results and ensures marketers a seat at the table where big decisions get made. In this book, analytics expert Jerry Rackley shows you how to understand and implement a sound marketing analytics process that helps eliminate the guesswork about the results produced by your marketing efforts. The result? You will acquire-and keep-more customers. Even better, you'll find that an analytics process helps the entire organization make better decisions, and not just marketers. Marketing Analytics Roadmap explains: How to use analytics to create marketing and sales metrics that guide your actions and provide valuable feedback on your efforts How to structure and use dashboards to report marketing results How to put industry-leading analytics software and other tools to good use How Big Data is shaping the marketing analytics landscape Sales and marketing teams that master marketing analytics will find them a powerful servant that enables agility, raises effectiveness, and creates confidence. Marketing Analytics Roadmap shows you how to build a well-planned and executed marketing analytics strategy that will enhance the credibility of your marketing team and help you not only get a seat at the big-decisions table, but keep it once there.
Effective Data Storytelling Master the art and science of data storytelling—with frameworks and techniques to help you craft compelling stories with data. The ability to effectively communicate with data is no longer a luxury in today’s economy; it is a necessity. Transforming data into visual communication is only one part of the picture. It is equally important to engage your audience with a narrative—to tell a story with the numbers. Effective Data Storytelling will teach you the essential skills necessary to communicate your insights through persuasive and memorable data stories. Narratives are more powerful than raw statistics, more enduring than pretty charts. When done correctly, data stories can influence decisions and drive change. Most other books focus only on data visualization while neglecting the powerful narrative and psychological aspects of telling stories with data. Author Brent Dykes shows you how to take the three central elements of data storytelling—data, narrative, and visuals—and combine them for maximum effectiveness. Taking a comprehensive look at all the elements of data storytelling, this unique book will enable you to: Transform your insights and data visualizations into appealing, impactful data stories Learn the fundamental elements of a data story and key audience drivers Understand the differences between how the brain processes facts and narrative Structure your findings as a data narrative, using a four-step storyboarding process Incorporate the seven essential principles of better visual storytelling into your work Avoid common data storytelling mistakes by learning from historical and modern examples Effective Data Storytelling: How to Drive Change with Data, Narrative and Visuals is a must-have resource for anyone who communicates regularly with data, including business professionals, analysts, marketers, salespeople, financial managers, and educators.
Principles of Marketing For principles of marketing courses that require a comprehensive text. Learn how to create value through customer connections and engagement In a fast-changing, increasingly digital and social marketplace, it's more vital than ever for marketers to develop meaningful connections with their customers. Principles of Marketing helps students master today's key marketing challenge: to create vibrant, interactive communities of consumers who make products and brands an integral part of their daily lives. To help students understand how to create value and build customer relationships, Kotler and Armstrong present fundamental marketing information within an innovative customer-value framework. Thoroughly revised to reflect the major trends impacting contemporary marketing, the 18th Edition is packed with stories illustrating how companies use new digital technologies to maximise customer engagement and shape brand conversations, experiences, and communities.

Start with Why

A Joosr guide to... Start with why Why are some people and organizations more inventive, pioneering and successful than others? And why are they able to repeat their success again and again? Because in business it doesnt matter what you do, it matters why you do it. Steve Jobs, the Wright brothers and Martin Luther King have one thing in common: they STARTED WITH WHY. This book is for anyone who wants to inspire others, or to be inspired. Based on the most-watched TED Talk of all time. One of the most useful and powerful books I have read in years William Ury, coauthor of Getting to Yes This book is so impactful, I consider it required reading Tony Robbins, Bestselling author of Awaken the Giant Within

Professional skills

Effective writing in English : a sourcebook Effective writing in English: A Sourcebook is een betrouwbare leidraad bij het Engelstalige schrijfproces. Het geeft praktische adviezen hoe een overtuigende Engelse tekst geschreven moet worden, met aandacht voor het structureren van de tekst, het ordenen van alinea's en zinnen, en het redigeren van het eindresultaat.
Getting things done Since it was first published almost fifteen years ago, David Allen&;s Getting Things Done has become one of the most influential business books of its era, and the ultimate book on personal organization. &;GTD&; is now shorthand for an entire way of approaching professional and personal tasks, and has spawned an entire culture of websites, organizational tools, seminars, and offshoots.
The subtle art of not giving a fuck: In this generation-defining self-help guide, a superstar blogger cuts through the crap to show us how to stop trying to be positive all the time so that we can truly become better, happier people. For decades, weve been told that positive thinking is the key to a happy, rich life. F**k positivity, Mark Manson says.

Storytelling

brand Storytelling in the Digital Age by S.M.A. Moin
ISBN: 9783030590857
Publication Date: 2020
Effective Data Storytelling by Brent Dykes
ISBN: 1119615739
Publication Date: 2020

Impact with respect

Aspirational Revolution This book illustrates how global economic progress has reached its upper limit under the current economic paradigm, and how the next major revolution in global progress will rely on our ability to tap into the collective knowledge of the “everyday genius” to drive innovation, free market competition, artistic influence, and other advances that will allow humanity to overcome its greatest challenges. This volume proposes a grant-based program that will allow innovators to pursue their passions and benefit society as a whole. Such a program will reflect the end of the industrial age, when technology is satisfying many basic needs and creating space for individuals to pursue meaningful, fulfilling careers with the potential to improve our quality of life. Our current economic state mirrors the beginnings of the Agricultural Revolution and Industrial Revolution, and Aspirational Revolution shows how the immediate future will redefine what it means to be human by revolutionizing the manner in which we acquire and utilize the resources necessary for our continued survival. This book is the catalyst by which this transition will occur, providing the models upon which new paradigms will be built – a brand new conception of fundamental economic theory.
Change Everything : Creating an Economy for the Common Good
Doughnut Economics : Seven Ways to Think Like a 21st-Century Economist
Economy and Meaningfulness It is utopian to represent the economy as a place in which human happiness is as paramount as profit. That is the opinion of many who might pick up this book. This truism, analogous to the argument that Gross National Happiness is utopian, is, however, confronted by the actual situation of our economy today. Our globalized society, with its Gross National Product, turns out to be a dystopia. Our globe has indeed become a place where it is no longer that pleasant to live. From burned-out people at the workplace, via the gap between the northern and the southern hemisphere, to our threatened environment: there is not much left of the utopia of the free market. The aim of at least the last fifty years, since the Club of Rome, of transforming it into a sustainable economy is failing. In this book, we find a plea for economic practices as elaborated in the Social Economy, the Purpose Economy and the Economy of Communion. Time and again, these are manifestations of an economic transition which, to a greater or lesser degree, no longer focuses exclusively on principles such as scarcity, individualism or utility. Responsibility, the interpersonal and authenticity are at least as central. Each time, they are concrete challenges that are the pertinent responses to the tension between utopia and dystopia. It is not a matter of fanatically reversing all economic activity in our globalized society in the direction of an economy of meaningfulness. But the unmistakably obvious challenge for our economy that the alternatives represent has something of an appealing urgency.
Economy of Well-Being Help build a world based on flourishing well-being for both the human family and nature In the face of political, financial, and environmental upheaval, it's difficult to slow down and build lives of mindfulness and joy. These things are within reach, but how can we go about creating a new world, using common-sense economics? In An Economy of Well-being, author Mark Anielski presents a practical guide for building a new economy of well-being to help communities and nations become more flourishing and happier places to live. In this follow-up to his best-selling The Economics of Happiness, Anielski addresses key questions including: How can our personal and family assets be strengthened for a more fulfilling life of meaning and purpose? How can neighborhoods and cities become flourishing economies of well-being by making the best of abundant community assets? how can organizations, communities and financial institutions measure, manage and finance assets to achieve high levels of well-being? An Economy of Well-being responds to a common yearning for common-sense tools to orient our lives, our businesses, and our communities towards well-being. This is ideal reading for anyone who wishes to contribute to building happier, more mindful communities, and ultimately lives of joy and meaning.
Organizing for Sustainability
This open access textbook is an excellent guide to developing and organizing sustainable business models that have a positive impact on people and society.
Tijd voor de betekeniseconomie : het verhaal over onze economie dat ze je nooit vertellen
Transforming Organizations for the Subscription Economy The emerging present is a fast-changing context for incumbent organizations, especially in market segments where online behavior is replacing physical proximity, and users engage with digital platforms for the acquisition of products and services. These are platforms that allow users to behave, to leave a mark, and to participate in the community of others, which are the values people now seek. Transforming Organizations for the Subscription Economy: Starting from Scratch aims to prepare executives for a world in which everything is social, augmented and autonomous; objects and spaces will have multiple purposes, capabilities and meanings. This is a new territory full of opportunity which is generally discussed only at the level of technology involved instead of the intellectual level, where the real understanding of the need for transformation resides. The book reveals ideas about what is possible if we transform the present. The narrative is organized around what is actual and what is potential; what is the probable future that we can arrive at through change, and what is the possible future that we can build through transformation. When engaging in transformation, the following strategic question develops: if you were designing your organization today, how would you design it? In other words, how would you go about it starting from scratch? This book provides the intellectual framework that empowers organizations to understand and navigate the emerging present, and to develop and deliver products and services of intrinsic value to users.

IB Futures

Wicked World - Complex Challenges and Systems Innovation by Karel van Berkel, Anu Manickam

Service management

The Palgrave Handbook of Service Management by Bo Edvardsson (Editor); Bård Tronvoll (Editor) This handbook provides an innovative, thorough overview of service management. It draws together an impressive, international group of leading scholars who offer a truly global perspective, exploring current literature and laying out guidance for future research. Beginning with defining service as a perspective on value creation, and service management as "a set of organizational competencies for enabling and realizing value creation through service," it then moves on to follow the evolution of service research. From there, the book is structured into six main themes: perspectives on service management; service strategy; service leadership and transition; service design and innovation; service interaction; quality and operations; and service management and technology. This book is valuable reading for academics, lecturers, and students studying service management, operations management, and service research.
ISBN: 9783030918279
Publication Date: 2022-05-26
Smart Service Management by Maria Maleshkova (Editor); Niklas Kühl (Editor); Philipp Jussen (Editor) This book presents the main theoretical foundations behind smart services as well as specific guidelines and practically proven methods on how to design them. Furthermore, it gives an overview of the possible implementation architectures and shows how the designed smart services can be realized with specific technologies. Finally, it provides four specific use cases that show how smart services have been realized in practice and what impact they have within the businesses. The first part of the book defines the basic concepts and aims to establish a shared understanding of terms, such as smart services, service systems, smart service systems or cyber-physical systems. On this basis, it provides an analysis of existing work and includes insights on how an organization incorporating smart services could enhance and adjust their management and business processes. The second part on the design of smart services elaborates on what constitutes a successful smart service and describes experiences in the area of interdisciplinary teams, strategic partnerships, the overall service systems and the common data basis. In the third part, technical reference architectures are presented in detail, encompassing topics on the design of digital twins in cyber physical systems, the communication between entities and sensors in the age of Industry 4.0 as well as data management and integration. The fourth part then highlights a number of analytical possibilities that can be realized and that can constitute or be part of smart services, including machine learning and artificial intelligence methods. Finally, the applicability of the introduced design and development method is demonstrated by considering specific real-world use cases. These include services in the industrial and mobility sector, which were developed in direct cooperation with industry partners.The main target audience of this book is industry-focused readers, especially practitioners from industry, who are involved in supporting and managing digital business. These include professionals working in business development, product management, strategy, and development, ranging from middle management to Chief Digital Officers. It conveys all the basics needed for developing smart services and successfully placing them on the market by explaining technical aspects as well as showcasing practical use cases.
ISBN: 3030581810
Publication Date: 2021-01-27